Transaction tax

Nevada Legislators: $ 1 State Reimbursement From DMV Must Be Made In Person Nevada News


CARSON CITY, Nevada (AP) – Lawmakers in Nevada have ruled that motorists seeking reimbursement of a $ 1 surcharge per transaction that the courts have ruled to be unconstitutionally authorized in 2020 will have to attend in person at the offices of the state motor vehicle department.

The state legislature’s interim finance committee on Thursday approved the reimbursement program, the Las Vegas Review-Journal reported.

The move aims to comply with a Nevada Supreme Court ruling last May that the surtax was unconstitutionally authorized by the legislature because the state’s constitution requires tax measures to be approved by a two-thirds majority. in both bedrooms.

Senate Republicans opposed the extended DMV fee as well as a business tax in 2019 and filed a lawsuit after Democrats approved them.

The DMV said it was collecting around $ 7 million a year on fees, but would provide reimbursements after the court ruling.

Political cartoons

The Review-Journal reports that five other repayment options were dismissed as more complex and costly than the amount collected, including sending checks to all DMV customers.

The rule passed by lawmakers states that people will have to present receipts in person at a DMV office for refunds.

Professional customers, with a higher volume of transactions, can receive checks.

Refunds to nearly 68,000 business customers represent one-third of all out-of-pocket expenses, the Review-Journal reported.

Copyright 2021 Associated press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.